LSWA Class 2A all-state: SWLA sweeps top girls awards

Published 9:26 am Tuesday, April 11, 2023

By Warren Arceneaux

On the Louisiana Sports Writers Association Class 2A team, Southwest Louisiana players swept both girls awards with Oakdale’s Renotta Edwards being voted Coach of the Year and Rosepine’s Addison Fruge voted Most Valuable Player.

Edwards led the Warriors to their first state title. Oakdale beat three of the top four seeds in the state en route to the non-select Division IV title, including a road win over top-seeded White Castle in the quarterfinals and 53-48 win over No. 2 Lakeview in the championship game.

Fruge led Rosepine to the non-select Division III state title, averaging 17 points, 5.0 rebounds and 3.0 assists per game. She was named Most Outstanding Player in the state championship game, a 69-61 win over Amite, after scoring 25 points.

Fruge was joined on the first team by teammate Kelly Norris and Lake Arthur’s Vivian Sketoe. Norris averaged 15 points, 7.0 rebounds and 7.0 assists per game while Sketoe scored 22 points per game and added 8.0 assists, 8.0 rebounds and 5.0 steals per game.


First Team

Player, School Ht. Cl. Avg.

Jayshaun Johnson, Franklin 5-11 Jr. 17.0

Trey’Dez Green, East Feliciana 6-8 Jr. 24.0

Chris Lockett, Newman 6-5 Sr. 16.0

Canin Jefferson, Newman 6-2 Sr. 15.0

Rondae Hill, Calvary Baptist 5-11 Jr. 17.0

Second Team

Player, School Ht. Cl. Avg.

Keithan Hamilton, Winnfield 5-9 Sr. 16.0

Shad Levy, Dunham 6-1 Sr. 17.0

Jordan Trahan, Country Day 6-5 Sr. 17.5

Draven Smith, French Settlement 6-5 Sr. 24.6

Kendrell Perry, St. Thomas Aquinas 6-1 Jr. 20.1

OUTSTANDING PLAYER — Chris Lockett, Newman

COACH OF THE YEAR — Randy Livingston, Newman

HONORABLE MENTION — Derrick Green, Oakdale; Alonzo Driver, Lakeview; Dalyn Bell, Franklin; Malaki Thomas, Calvary Baptist; Cooper Chase, Lakeside; Laketric Robinson, Mansfield; Cameron Smith, Rayville; Troy Pattum, Welsh; D..J. Adams, Houma Christian; Lantavious Murphy, Rayville; Aubry Nash, General Trass; Jaiden Mitchell, Catholic-New Iberia; Darunce Allen, M.L. King; Darmon Williams, South Plaquemines; Brian Duncan, Northeast.


First Team

Player, School Ht. Cl. Avg.

Vivian Sketoe, Lake Arthur 5-6 Jr. 22.0

Addison Fruge, Rosepine 5-7 Jr. 17.0

Kelly Norris, Rosepine 5-6 Jr. 15.0

Timberlyn Washington, Lakeview 5-3 So. 21.0

Blair Smith, Episcopal 5-10 Sr. 21.0

Second Team

Player, School Ht. Cl. Avg.

Marilyn Seeling, Menard 5-6 Sr. 14.1

Emari Evans, Winnfield 5-7 Jr. 21.0

Destiny Pierce, Houma Christian 5-6 So. 13.0

Anaya Yunusah, Newman 5-11 Jr. 17.9

Nevaeh Kimmie, Dunham 5-8 Jr. 20.0

OUTSTANDING PLAYER — Addison Fruge, Rosepine

COACH OF THE YEAR — Renotta Edwards, Oakdale

HONORABLE MENTION — Jaedynn French Solton, Red River; Sanaa Bean, Newman; Nyla Lyons, Houma Christian; Akeelah Hobson, Oakdale; Myla Harbor, Ferriday; Caroline Watson, Episcopal.

As voted by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association