Rosepine dominates all-Vernon Parish team

Published 4:05 pm Sunday, July 3, 2022

By Daniel Green | BWS Sports

ROSEPINE — Arguably, no Vernon Parish team had a better year than the Rosepine Eagles.

Not only did the Eagles win their final 30 games of the season, they won 34 of 36 outings en route to capturing its second consecutive Class 2A state baseball championship.

And as a result, five Eagles were named to the BWS Sports all-Vernon Parish baseball team, with four of the five players picking up special recognition.

LSU signee Ethan Frey, who finished the season 5-0 on the mound, while also smacking 13 homers and driving in 64 RBIs, was the easy choice for the team’s Most Valuable Player. For a second year in a row, Frey blanked Doyle in the state championship game, won championship game MVP honors and claimed the Class 2A Outstanding Player honors on the all-state team as chosen by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Additionally, Frey, who is currently playing baseball in Liberal, Kan., was named Mr. Baseball in Louisiana, an honor selected by the LSWA as the best overall player in the state.

But he wasn’t alone on the squad as an award winner as Braden Trull was named the Pitcher of the Year after going 12-0 overall, while Grant Ducote and Jake Smith were named as Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively.

Joining the award-winning quartet on the all-parish team was Logan Calcote.

Rounding out the award winners on the team were Newcomers of the Year Parker Alexander of Hornbeck and Brock Nolen of Pitkin. Additionally, first-year Anacoco skipper Dakota Durkes was selected as the Coach of the Year after guiding the Indians to the Class B semifinals, where they fell in extra innings to eventual champion, Choudrant.

Alexander was joined by Hornet teammate Jaren Mitcham on the squad, while Nolen’s Tiger teammates selected to the team were Connor Goleman and Hunner Perkins.

Class C state champion Hicks landed a quartet of players on the all-parish team, including Hayden Doyle, Aiden Coffman, Zach Haymon and Brad Pelt, while semifinalist Simpson landed both Ethan Nash and Chase Taylor on the team.

Three Anacoco players – Reid Rodriguez, Dylan Fitzgerald and Chase Taylor – were selected to the squad along with their coach.

The remaining players named to the team were Zane West of Evans, Leesville’s Mason Fitzgerald and Pickering’s Kaden “Buck” O’Banion.