Anacoco, Pitkin combine for seven players on Class B all-state team

Published 10:31 am Monday, June 13, 2022

By Daniel Green | BWS Sports

When it comes to Class B baseball and softball in Louisiana, the teams from both Anacoco and Pitkin proved they were the real deal.

Both Anacoco teams reached the state tournament, with the Lady Indians falling in the Class B finals, while the Indians fell in extra innings to the eventual champions in Choudrant. As for Pitkin, the Lady Tigers gave Monterey a run for its money in bowing out of the playoffs, while the Tigers reached the state quarterfinals, falling to No 1 Quitman in a nail-biter.

As a result of their success, a total of seven players from Anacoco and Pitkin were honored by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association with all-state recognition.

Three Anacoco players – Reid Rodriguez, Bailey Davis and Ava Davis – were first-team selections, while Pitkin’s Hunner Perkins also grabbed first-team accolades.

Anacoco’s Chase Taylor and the Pitkin duo of Abby Robinson and Conner Goleman earned honorable mention recognition.

Rodriguez sported a record on the mound of 7-4 with a 2.64 earned run average, while also batting .305 with 17 RBIs. As a pitcher, he also recorded 84 strikeouts.

Bailey Davis batted .475 with eight homers and 40 RBIs, while also pitching, helping guide Anacoco to the Class B finals. LIttle sister, Ava, batted .438 with 20 doubles, 37 RBIs and 37 runs scored out of the leadoff spot.

Perkins was the ace of the Pitkin pitching staff as he had a 1.37 ERA with 64 strikeouts in 61 innings pitched.

The Class B Most Outstanding Players were Holden’s Taylor Douglas and Choudrant pitcher Landon Hennen.

Douglas repeated as the top player in Class B as she had 20 homers and 51 RBIs, along with a record of 25-8 with 194 strikeouts. Hennen was 8-1 for state baseball champion Choudrant, while also carrying a ..404 batting average.

Holden first-year coach Raven Andrews and Choudrant veteran Tony Antley, who retired after winning another championship, were honored as the Coaches of the Year.

The remaining members of the first-team all-state softball team were the Holden duo of Gracie Duffy and Raievah Craddock, Quitman’s Cali Deal, Choudrant’s Zoey Smith, Florien’s Sarah McDaniel, Stanley’s Madison Holmes, Fairview’s Rylee Cloud, Converse’s Rayni Rivers, Grace Chriistian’s Wynnlee Vincent, Chloe Kelly of Oak Hill, Allie Lipsey of Monterey, Bell City’s Addy Bonsall and Lacassine’s Giselle Fuentes.

Joining Hennen, Rodriguez and Perkins on the first-team list for baseball were Choudrant’s Bryce McGuire, the Quitman duo of Ty Simonelli and Luke Morgan, Florien’s Gage Remedies, Zwolle’s Austin Tarpley, the Converse pairing of Judge Boudreaux and Caden Craig, Singer’s Tate Hess, Fairview’s Brett Jinks, Elizabeth’s Jason Gormanous, Glenmora’s Cameron Parks, SEth Cook of Grace Christian and Maurepas senior Pierston Sturges.