Lady Indians dominate 5-B all-district team

Published 6:03 pm Saturday, May 28, 2022

By Daniel Green | BWS Sports

ANACOCO — For the second straight year, the Anacoco Lady Indians reached the Class B state championship game following a successful District 5-B campaign.

And now they will reap the rewards.

Five members of the Lady Indian softball squad were named first-team all-district by the coaches of 5-B.

The quintet of Bailey Davis, Ava Davis, Brooklyn Bryant, Tylar Summitt and Hanna Jackson were chosen first-team all-district, the most representation for any school on the squad.

Sophomore Bailey Davis batted .583 during league play and was 7-0 in the circle, while eighth-grade sister Ava batted .443 for the Lady Indians as the table setter.

Bryant batted .476 in league play, while Summitt and Jackson were good for averages of .300 and .367, respectively.

Pitkin landed a trio of players on first-team in Abby Robinson, Mya Odo and Shae Wetzel. Robinson batted .417 in district, while Odom had a mark of .407. Wetzel batted .300 in district play.

The Fairview Lady Panthers landed a total of four players on first team, including district MVP Rylee Cloud. Cloud, a University of Arkansas signee, batted .765 in league play.

Cloud was joined on the team by teammates Ella Reeves, Andee Stanley and Malee Standley.

Singer’s Brandi Brady and the Elizabeth trio of Adri Johnson, Kale Cloud and Taylor Willis rounded out the first-team selections.

The second-team selections were the Anacoco trio of Emilee D’Amico, Emily Scott and Jaiden Craft, the Fairview trio of Reesie Jinks, A.J. Williams and Bella Smith, the Singer combination of Allison Doyle, Jada Eaves, Monica Burnett, Maddi Harrison, Sam Slaydon and Amber Holley, the Pitkin pair of Heidi Nelson and Charlie Lentz and the Elizabeth duo of Ainsley Lee and Marley Van Zant.