Fairview, Anacoco dominate District 5-B squad

Published 1:15 pm Friday, March 18, 2022

By Will Norris | BWS Sports
GRANT — The Fairview Lady Panthers and the Anacoco Lady Indians both reached the Class B state tournament recently as they were the top two teams in District 5-B.
Anacoco was bounced in the semifinals, while Fairview went on to win its third straight state championship.
As a result, both squads dominated the District 5-B team, claiming all five first-team spots and three of the six on the second team.
Fairview senior Rylee Cloud, who averaged 26.1 points per game, was named the 5-B Most Valuable Player, while her boss, Kyle Jinks, was named the league’s Coach of the Year.
Cloud’s teammates – Reesie Jinks, Bella Smith and Ella Reeves – were named to the squad as well. Jinks and Smith were first-team choices, with Jinks averaging 10.2 points and 10 assists per game, while Smith notched 17 points and 12 rebounds per outing. Reeves, a second-team pick, was good for 14 points and eight rebounds per game.
Anacoco was represented by Bailey Davis and Paige Mayo on the first team, while Brooklyn Bryant and Bella Henry were named second-teamers.
Davis averaged 12 points and 10 boards per game, while Mayo was good for 14.5 points and 10.5 rebounds per outing. Bryant chipped in with 9.5 points per game, while Henry notched six points per outing.
Joining Reeves, Henry and Bryant on the second team were Pitkin’s Abby Robinson, Singer’s Abigail Wood and Elizabeth’s Emma Doucet.
Honorable mention choices included the Pitkin duo of Tucker Perkins and Heidi Nelson, Elizabeth’s Emery Weldon, Singer’s Kayleigh Hardwick, Fairview’s Kaylee Guillory and Anacoco’s Abbie Dowden.