Griffin named honorable mention all-state

Published 9:25 am Saturday, April 3, 2021

DeRidder powerhouse Derron Griffin (32) was named to the Class 4A all-state team as an honorable mention pick.

DeRIDDER – The DeRidder Dragons won the District 3-4A title for the first time in a number of years this past season.

One of the main reasons for their success was the dominant post play of Derron "D.J." Griffin.

The powerhouse dominated District 3-4A by upping his game in league play by averaging a double-double, winning MVP recognition.And as a result, the 6-4 manchild was named to the Class 4A all-state team as an honorable mention selection by a panel of the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Griffin was also a member of the inaugural all-Beauregard Parish basketball team as a first-teamer.

St. Thomas More standout Carter Domingue and LaGrange senior Jeriah Warren, a Florida signee, took home top honors on the all-state squad by being named the Most Outstanding Players, while Steven Kelly of McMain and the late Kenneth Dixon of Ellender were chosen as Coaches of the Year.

Domingue was joined on the first team by Peabody's Zytarious Morlte, Dionjahe Thomas of Ellender, Carver's Solomon Washington and Woodlawn-Shreveport's Delatrion Moron. 

The second team consisted of Jaden Tyler of Assumption, Jaden Shelvin of St. Thomas More, Bennie Amos of L.B. Landry, McMain's Alex Hammond and Neville's P.D. McCraney.

Joining Warren on the girls' first team was LaGrange teammate Asia Sam, Warren Easton's Breeanna Sutton, Liberty's Haley Franklin and Huntington's Taylor Bell. Second-team selections included DaKayla Howard of Neville, Carencro's Lynn Griffin, AC Froelich of St. Thomas More, Karr's Tia Shelling and Ellender's Jamia Singleton.

This article originally appeared on Leesville Daily Leader: Griffin named honorable mention all-state