ELECTION RESULTS: Six Police Jury seats decided in Vernon

Published 10:22 pm Saturday, October 14, 2023

Vernon voters took to the polls Saturday to decide six police jury races.

In District 3, voters favored Alton “David” Fox by 66 percent, or 472 votes. Nathanael Derouen received 34 percent, or 241 votes. Both are Republicans.

“Doug” Roshong, no party, won the District 4 seat. He received 68 percent of votes, or 98, while Eric Klesko, also no party, received 32 percent, or 47 votes.

In District 5, Cody Hostetler, a Republican, received 50 percent of the vote, or 536. “Reggie” Johnson, an independent, received 44 percent, or 468, while Todd Maricle, a Republican, received six percent, or 61 votes.

In District 6, Scottie E. Benjamin received 58 percent, or 839 votes, and Donnie Herrington received 42 percent, or 601. Both are Republicans.

In District 7, Charnel Bailey, a Republican, received 84 percent of the vote, or 571, while Brian Davis, no party, received 16 percent, or 109 votes.

In District 12, Kenny Haymon, a Republican, received 85 percent of the vote, or 909, while Laura Semien, a Democrat, received 15 percent, or 155.

There will be a runoff for the Justice of the Peace Ward 8 constable seat. Brian Herrington and Danny James, both Republican, both received 23 percent of the vote.

“Jeff” Skidmore received 66 percent of the vote for the clerk of court seat. He received 5,458 votes while Joshua “Dillon” Smith received 2,840 votes. Both are Republican.

Vernon voters chose Charles Owen, a Republican, for state representative in District 30 by 86 percent, or 3,040, and Rodney Schamerhorn for district 24 by 61 percent.

Vernon voters also overwhelmingly favored Jeff Landry as the next governor as well as William “Billy” Nungesser for lieutenant governor, “Mike” Francis for secretary of state, “Liz” Baker Murrill  for attorney general, John Fleming for treasurer and Stacey Melerine for the BESE District 7 seat.