Vernon sheriff runs unopposed for re-election

Published 12:47 pm Monday, August 14, 2023

Vernon Parish Sheriff Sam Craft, Assessor Michael Bealer and Coroner Shawn Granger, all Republicans, ran unopposed for re-election.

State Sen. Mike Reese, a Republican, also ran unopposed and will begin his new term on Jan. 8, 2025.

Rep. Rodney Schamerhorn of Leesville has one opponent — Clarence Beebe of Hornbeck. Both are Republicans.

Republican Rep. Charles A. Owen of Leesville has one opponent — independent William “BJ” Jones of Leesville.

Clerk of Court Jeff Skidmore of Anacoco will face opponent Joshua “Dillon” Smith of Leesville. Both are Republicans.

Jim Tuck, Marvin Hilton, Dean Mitchell, David Brister, Curtis Clay and Quintin Thompson were all elected to the Vernon Police Jury without opposition. Tuck, a Republican, represents District 1; Hilton, a Republican, represents District 2; Mitchell, an independent, represents District 8; Brister, a Republican, represents District 9; Clay, a Democrat, represents District 10; and Thompson, a Republican, represents District 11.

Other Police Jury candidates on the Oct. 14 ballot will be Nathanael Derouen and Alton “David” Fox, both Republican, for District 3; Eric Klesko and Doug Roshong, both no party, for District 4; Cody Hostetler and Todd Maricle, both Republican, and Reggie Johnson, an independent, for District 5; Scottie Benjamin and Donnie Herrington, both Republican, for District 6; Charnel Bailey, a Republican, and Brian Davis, no party, for District 7; and Kenny Haymon, a Republican, and Laura Semien, a Democrat, for District 12.

Five qualified for the Constable Justice of the Peace seat for Ward 8. They are Ronald Kevin Hagan, Brian Herrington, Danny James, Justin Rose and Gary Williams, all Republican.

Simpson Chief of Police Ronnie Hagan, a Republican, ran unopposed as did Denise Lavender, a Democrat, for the New Llano town council.

Vernon voters will also have a say in who will fill the District 4 seat of the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education. Candidates are Paige Hoffpauir and Stacey Melerine, both Republicans, and Emma Shepard, a Democrat. All are of Shreveport.