Leesville sweeps team titles at Red Devil Relays

Published 10:16 am Saturday, April 9, 2022

By Will Norris |  BWS Sports

PICKERING — It was a clean sweep of the team titles.

The Leesville Wampus Cats won a meet for the third straight week and the Lady Cats were victorious for the second time in three weeks as they were the team champions at the annual Red Devil Relays, held at O’Banion Stadium on the campus of Pickering High School last week.

The Wampus Cats ran away with the crown, scoring a total of 162 points, easily outdistancing Natchitoches Central and Rosepine, which scored 74.5 and 68 points, respectively.

The Lady Cats scored 104 total points to edge out Rosepine (91) and Buckeye (80) for top honors.

Anacoco was fifth in the boys’ standings with 60 points, while Simpson was seventh with 44.5 points. As for the girls, Anacoco was fourth with 72 points, while Simpson was eighth with 24 points.

The Wampus Cats won three of the four relay events, only falling short of Many in the 400-meter sprint relay. Leesville also got first-place finishes on the track from Jaymeion Henderson in the 300-meter hurdles and Marlon Trejo in the 3,200-meter run

Henderson also won first place in the boys’ high jump, while Parker Maks took first place in the long jump.

The Lady Cats got a pair of first-place finishes from Lina Mills-Zacapa in the 1,600 and 3,200-meter runs, while she also claimed second in the 800-meter run by Anacoco’s Sophia Acevedo-Swinney. The Lady Cats also won the 400 and 800-meter relays, while Blyss Ault won the girls’ high jump.

Several other Vernon Parish competitors won their events. On the girls’ side, Rosepine won the mile and 2-mile relay races, while Lady Eagle Amaya Shine won both the 100 and 200-meter dashes. Pitkin’s Abby Robinson won the pole vault competition, while Reagan Clutter of Simpson won the long jump. Additionally, Anacoco’s Lauren Hunnicutt won the discus title.

Rosepine’s Sullivan Hanna took top honors in the boys’ 1,600-meter run, while Anacoco’s Brayden Prichard was the winner in the 800-meter run. Simpson’s Braxton Basco claimed the top score in the triple jump.