Leesville sweeps Vernon Parish Relays; Rosepine claims runner-up

Published 10:32 am Friday, April 8, 2022

By Will Norris | BWS Sports

LEESVILLE — The Leesville Wampus Cats flexed their muscle on the track last Thursday night in the annual Vernon Parish Relays, easily running away from the field to win the team title.

Sparked by Outstanding Track performer Keeton Johnson, Leesville finished with a total of 242 points, easily outdistancing Rosepine, which was runner-up with 89 points. Anacoco was third with 79 points, while Hornbeck and Hicks were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Johnson claimed first place in the 800-meter run, the 1,600-meter run and the 3,200-meter run to lead the Wampus Cats to the team title. Additionally on the track, Caleb Gallashaw won the 100-meter dash, Derek Beebe claimed the 200-meter dash, Taj Jackson won the 400-meter dash, Frank Ford was the winner of the 110-meter high hurdles and the 400-meter, 800-meter and 3,200-meter relay teams were victorious as well.

The only other schools to claim first place on the track in the boys division was Rosepine in the 1,600-meter relay and the 300-meter hurdles, which was captured by Evans runner, Caleb Williams.

On the girls’ side, the Lady Cats were able to claim the team title with 168 points, with Rosepine and Anacoco coming in second and third with 148 and 106 points, respectively. Hornbeck took fourth overall, while Pickering claimed fifth place.

Rosepine’s Amaya Shine took first in both the 100 and 200-meter dashes, while finishing second to Leesville’s Ariyah Green in the 400-meter dash.

Anacoco’s Sophia Swinney, the girls’ Outstanding Track winner, won both the 800-meter run and the 300-meter hurdles, while Leesville standout Lina Mills-Zacapa won both the 1,600 meters and 3,200 meters.

Leesville’s Felisa Robinson won the 100-meter hurdles, while Leesville won the 400-meter and 800-meter relays. Rosepine claimed top honors in the mile and 2-mile relay.

In the field, Hicks standout Conner Harper won the high jump, long jump and triple jump titles to take home Outstanding Field honors. Rosepine’s Austin Puckett won the pole vault, while Lance Grafton of Anacoco won the boys discus. Leesville’s Trey Marsh took the javelin title, while teammate Jaymeion Henderson won the shot put.

In the girls’ field events, Leesville’s Arrianna Leonard was the Outstanding Field performer as she won both the long jump and triple jump. Her teammate, Blyss Ault, won the high jump competition, while Anacoco Lauren Hunnicutt won the discus.

The girls’ pole vault title went to Rosepine’s Hanzel Cortez, while Pitkin eighth-grader Natalee Nolen won the javelin. Pickering’s MyKia Freeney was the winner in the girls’ shot put.