Chicharro named MVP on all-district soccer team

Published 10:14 am Thursday, March 24, 2022

By Daniel Green | BWS Sports

Although the DeRidder Dragons were the champions of District 3-III, it was the Leesville Wampus Cats who had the higher seed in the playoffs.

The Wampus Cats reached the state quarterfinals for just the third time in school history, hosting the game for the first time.

And although the season ended just short of setting a new standard at Leesville High School, the Wampus Cats were highly honored on the all-district team, as chosen by the league’s coaches.

Alvaro Chicharro brought home Most Valuable Player honors in the district, while Austin Gostnell was named the Co-Defensive Player of the Year.

Aside from Chicharro and Gostnell, several Wampus Cats earned first-team honors, including forward Will McShan, midfielder Juan De Dios and Oscar Barrera.

Caden Catron and Ryan Pena won honorable mention recognition.

DeRidder boss David Wilber was named the league’s Coach of the Year, while Jose Mijares was the Offensive MVP. Luke Granger shared the Co-Defensive MVP award with Gostnell.

Sean Meyle, Cooper Williams, Jack Granger and Caden Hendricks were first-team honorees for DeRidder, while David Ayala was named honorable mention.