Rosepine sweeps honors on all-parish football team

Published 3:36 pm Wednesday, January 5, 2022

By Will Norris  |  BWS Sports

ROSEPINE — It was a season rich with history this year for the Rosepine Eagles.

Not only did the Eagles reach the state quarterfinals for the first time in school history, Rosepine also tied the school record for wins in a season as it went undefeated in district play.

The Eagles landed a total of 13 players on the BWS Sports All-Vernon Parish football team, with Ethan Frey winning Offensive Most Valuable Player honors, Michael Woods claiming Defensive Most Valuable Player and boss Brad Ducote earning Coach of the Year recognition.

This was the second year in a row for Frey to win Offensive MVP honors and his numbers are evident as to why. He completed 124-of0180 passes for 1,913 yards and 23 touchdowns with only six interceptions, while also running the ball 94 times for 733 yards and 17 touchdowns. He recently signed his national letter-of-intent to play baseball at Louisiana State University.

“Ethan had a great year for us,” Rosepine coach Brad Ducote said. “He was a great leader and we are going to miss having him next year.”

Rosepine’s defense was stellar as well this season as Woods, a transfer from Pickering, came in and had an immediate impact, earning Defensive MP recognition. He had a total of 139 tackles on the season, which included 16 tackles for losses.

Rosepine teammates joining Frey on the all-parish offensive squad were offensive lineman Collin Gill and Lane Willis, wide receiver Isaiah Stinson (64-736, 11 TDs), tight end Cole Donahue (31-653, 7 TDs) and running back Grant Ducote (202-2,015, 35 TDs). Defensively, teammates joining Woods on the squad were defensive linemen Logan Cheever (84 tackles) and Payton Jeans, linebacker Braden Trull (87 tackles) defensive backs Aiden Cline and Jake Smith and flex player Bryson Meeks (75 tackles).

The Leesville Wampus Cats landed a parish-high 16 players on the All-Vernon Parish team. First-team offensive selections included linemen Mason Fitzgerald and Derrion Beebe, wide receivers Daveion Grubb (27-633, 9 TDs) and Ke’Mhari Pruitt (31-637, 6 TDs) running back Caleb Gallashaw (193-1,736, 19 TDs; 31-438, 3 TDs receiving), quarterback Parker Maks (97-180-6–1,638, 14 TDs), placekicker Caden Catron and athlete Layne Self (72-352, 8 TDs).

First-team selections for Leesville on defense included defensive lineman Jashawn Mabry and Jaymeion Henderson, linebackers Caden Bealer (116 tackles), Frank Ford, Jr (112 tackles) and Nathan Mawae, defensive backs Mustafaa Dhiaa and Derrick Beebe and returner A.J. Bush.

Pickering players selected to the all-parish squad were punter Marlon Freeney and offensive lineman Kaiden “Buck” O’Banion.