Lois Eloise Herring

Published 12:00 am Saturday, July 9, 2016

Funeral services for Lois Eloise Herring were held
on July 9, 2016, at 10:00 a.m. at Mt. Bethel Baptist Church on 3255 Belview Road, Leesville, under the direction of Jeane’s Funeral Service. Reverends Morris Goins, Richard Partridge, and Huey Haymon officiated.
Burial followed in the Mt.
Bethel Cemetery.
Visitation was from 6:00-9:00 p.m. at Mt. Bethel Baptist Church on July 8, 2016.
Mrs. Herring was born on April 26, 1934, in Leesville to Harold and Dora Marshall. She passed away on July 6, 2016.
Mrs. Lois was a 1953 graduate of Leesville High School and while there she met the love of her life, Alton Herring. They were married for 61 years. She lived in Houston, Texas for 20 years, and spent the rest of her life in Leesville. Most of
her life she was a homemaker, but she also worked as a switch board operator.
Mrs. Lois was an active member of Mt. Bethel Baptist Church where she worked in Vacation Bible School, cooked, and was a well-loved Sunday School teacher. Mrs.
Lois had a caregiver’s heart and always showed her love for children and her family.
Greeting her in heaven are her parents, Harold and Dora Marshall; her sisters – Irene Bass, Faye
Holdt, and Verda Smith; her brothers, Dalton
Marshall and L.W. “Bubby” Marshall; one granddaughter, Krystal Naomi Herring, and one great-granddaughter, Elizabeth Hope Herring.
Left to cherish her memory are her husband of 61 years Alton Herring; a sister, Lorene “Tookie ready of
Jasper, Texas; three sons, Robert Herring of Snook, Texas, Raymond Herring and wife Becky of Natchitoches, and Russell Herring and wife Del Ann of Rosepine; grandchildren, Amanda Herring, Jared Herring and wife Megan, Jessica Mayo and husband Aaron,
Regina Talbot and husband Matt, Justin Herring and wife Heather, Dustin Herring, Jace Herring and wife Shawnah, Robyn Ketchum and husband James, and Rachel Herring; great-grandchildren, Cari, Derrick, and David Godwin; Kyleigh, Brayton, and Gavin
Herring; Austin and Paisley Mayo; Matthew and Tyler Talbot; Abigail Herring, and Layken Ketchum.
Pallbearers were Jared Herring, Justin Herring, Jace Herring, Dustin Herring, Aaron Mayo,
Matt Talbot, and James Ketchum.
Honorary pallbearers will be Elton Herring, Gene Haymon, and Daryl Holdt.
Words of encouragement may be left at jeanesfs.com.